The Bibliophile – Day 2 #AtoZChallenge

 

For all avid readers who have been self-medicating with great books their entire lives, it comes as no surprise that reading books can be good for you.

So Day Two for #AtoZChallenge, I just stared at the Letter B and the only word that comes to my mind is Books. Yes, you bibliophiles πŸ™‚

Let’s see, why do I read. A little background first, I come from a family of readers. I started reading in high school, way back in the 00’s and it more or less came out of curiosity. As kids, we were literally forced to borrow books from the library every starting of the week and submit our book reviews by the end of the same week. My lecturers were crazy that way.

So we would go to school everyday with a book in our hand and your roommate’s current book would be either your last book or the next one.

Anyway, that’s how I got started reading but then why do I read. I read to escape real life but more importantly, books offer the best way to travel to all the different parts of the world on the cheap. I love reading because there’s nothing better than a good book. I get a natural high going when I am reading a really good book. I mean admit it, when you’re reading a really good book, you tend to forget all the stresses in your life. I go to work happy knowing that I got a good book waiting for me at home. I also read to increase my knowledge base and vocabulary and more importantly, it’s a pleasure getting to know all the different characters, different personality types, seeing how other people live their life and to be completely lost in their world. But the best part of reading for me is meeting other readers who love to read, too. It just doesn’t get any better than that.

 

 

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. what a coincidence! my post for B is also about being a bibliophile. nicely written. here’s to discovering many more books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. apsster says:

      More power to us πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    2. satheadis says:

      Same with me .. B for Books

      Like

      1. apsster says:

        Amen to that πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes! Reading is akin to travelling. Although it may seem a tad like escapism, I don’t mind it. I embrace every chance I get to ditch reality and scoot off elsewhere. πŸ™‚
    [@samantha_rjsdr] from
    Whimsical Compass

    Liked by 1 person

  3. satheadis says:

    Reblogged this on Adi's Journal.

    Like

  4. Jimmy says:

    beuauiftl my friend! your light is beautiful in every image! the first image is stunning! and i love the shot taken outside of the brides room looking in at her fixing her dress! great idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

